The Road Warrior Challenge

After two challenges for the NSPCC, I wanted to also give back to another charity. The Children’s Hospital in Sheffield is a hospital close to my heart, as I was treated for a multitude of injuries and trauma throughout an abusive childhood, during which the hospital staff became a family to me. One Christmas, one of the nurses at The Children’s Hospital in Sheffield saw that I didn’t have any presents, so she bought me a LEGO pirate set with a ship, a pirate and a palm tree. I built it on my hospital bed and that’s what got me into LEGO. She didn’t have to do that but it made my world and now I play with LEGO for a living. I never had a chance to really say thank you.

The challenge kicked off on Sunday 2nd August with the Run For All York 10K and the challenge was to do 52 races in 52 weeks and wearing face paint from my favourite WWF wrestlers from the 1980’s and 1990’s. By mid-September I had to drop the face paint due to my skin having a bad reaction to it. The challenge went well up to mid-November when I became ill with a chest infection, almost causing the challenge to end. Afterwards I managed to get back on track but after doing 5 races including 3 back to back during the festive period, I made decision to end the challenge earlier having done 32 races in just 23 weeks.

Even though I made the decision to finish the challenge early. I still managed to achieve my fundraising target of £2,000, raising a total of £2019.10.

The races that were part of the challenge are below

  • Run for All York 10k Sunday 2nd August (36:36)
  • Bassingham Bash 5m Saturday 8th August (29:38)
  • West Yorkshire 5m Sunday 9th August (30:51)
  • Ray Harrison Memorial 10k Sunday 16th August (36:59)
  • Birchwood 10k Sunday 23rd August (38:14)
  • Badgers Atherstone 10k Sunday 30th August (39:11)
  • Spencers Arms Dash Wednesday 2nd September (22:50)
  • Yorkshire Gold 5k Sunday 6th September(18:17)
  • Wetherby 10k Sunday 6th September (38:19)
  • East Coast Classic 10k Sunday 13th September (36:37)
  • Vale of York HM Sunday 20th September (81:11)
  • Great Yorkshire Run Sunday 27th September (36:21)
  • ERRA National 6 Stage Relays Saturday 3rd October (21:34)
  • Cusworth 10k Sunday 4th October (36:49)
  • Yorkshire 10m Sunday 11th October (61:13)
  • Green Drive 5m Sunday 18th October (29:25)
  • Holmfirth 10k Sunday 25th October (37:04)
  • EDF Power Surge 10k Sunday 1st November (37:30)
  • Cheshire 10k Saturday 7th November (36:18)
  • Windmill 10k Sunday 8th November (37:50)
  • Leeds Abbey Dash Sunday 15th November (36:59)
  • Loughborough 10k Sunday 22nd November (36:51)
  • Cheddleton 10k Saturday 28th November (38:32)
  • No Walk in the Park 5k Saturday 5th December (18:31)
  • Santa Dash Saturday 12th December (7:02)
  • Bolsover 10k Sunday 13th December (36:41)
  • Travellers 6 Sunday 20th December (38:28)
  • Braithwell Boxing Day Run Sunday 20th December (27:22)
  • Ward Green 6 Sunday 27th December (35:12)
  • Cleethorpes News Years Day 10k Friday 1st January (36:39)
  • No Walk in the Park 5k Saturday 2nd January (18:30)
  • Hit the Trail 5 Sunday 3rd January (31:11)
Close